HONGDAE NIGHT @ Le Point Ephémère

K INVITATION 210X148.inddLast night, November 8th, 2015 was held the last event of « Regards sur la Corée Festival » organized by le Centre Culturel Coréen, Paris-Dauphine University and the INALCO (Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales).

Once again music was honoured but not just any. As you might know Hongdae (홍대) is a very popular area of Seoul  – 서울 ( Hongik University Area 홍익대학교) for its strong Indie scene. And yesterday, through « Hongdae Night » we had the opportunity to meet with the exciting Korean underground scene. Starting with the Frenchies Wall of Death

Wall of death I must say, I was confused at first. I came for the Hongdae Night and started with a French band.

Anyways, Wall of Death is a trio consisting of Gabriel Matringe (Guitar/Vocals), Brice Borredon (Keyboards/Vocals) and Adam Ghoubali (Drums).  And I really loved the airy music specific to the Psychedelic Rock genre, born back in the 60’s. The Psychedelic Rock style takes inspiration in replicating the effects of hallucinogenic/psychedelic drugs and the use of many effects and different styles such as Indian music, folk music, blues, hard rock… You mix everything and you get Wall of Death,  I really felt like time travelling and it was surreal. I ain’t got high but it was just like it. Here is a sneek peak:

Wall of Death on Facebook

Danpyunsun and the Sailors (단편선과 선원들)

단편선과 선원들__DanpyunsunandtheSailors

Then, the band DANPYUNSUN AND THE SAILORS (단편선과 선원들), the true UFO of the night. I had no idea of who they were until last night and it was a great discovery. The singer, who is a traditional Korean singer started with a solo.  He was quickly inhabited by his music and played as if he went into a trance. I loved the celtics inspirations which reminded me of the Irish traditional music. From the first to the second band I really felt like I was embracing a journey within the different styles of Pschedelic music.  There was a great energy and the band was very easy to approach after the gig which enabled me and my friends to exchange a few words and our impressions.

Danpyunsun on Facebook

Grace Kim

Grace_Kim_320x320

Finally, the amazing Grace Kim.  I missed her set at the Technoparade and I really wanted to get to know her this time. I was so pumped up that I danced during the whole set. I love deep house and if it wasn’t sunday last night I would have danced till dawn.

Shame on all of you who left too early and congrats to those who danced ’till the end. She’s definitely someone I look forward to meet again and listen to her productions.

On a personal note, thank you very much for your kindness, taking the time to come back and talk, next time I’ll make some diggings first! Anyway, it gave me the chance to practice a little bit my Korean, speak English only to realize that I made so many efforts for nothing when we could have spoken French from the very begining. So awkward! Dang!

Anyways, I look forward to dancing again to your music. Grace Kim just made my day, night? Whatever….

IMG_20151108_235943

Grace Kim on Facebook

Stay tuned!

Laisser un commentaire

